May 9, 2009

Airich and Hall Tabbed as Peach Belt All-Conference

AUGUSTA, GA – North Georgia College and State University’s Andre Airich and Brad Hall were named to the 2009 Peach Belt All-Conference team announced Friday afternoon from the league office. Airich earned first-team honors at third base, while Hall garnered second-team honors as a utility player.

Andre Airich picks up the honor after proving he deserved being named preseason PBC All-Conference and hitting .386 during the 2009 season with eight home runs, 59 runs batted in, and 132 total bases. The junior ranks in the top 10 in the Peach Belt Conference in hits, runs scored, runs batted in, total bases, doubles, and slugging percentage. Airich led the conference with 20 doubles as he started all 55 games for the Saints. The Roswell, Ga., native had 14 games with three hits or more and hit .409 with 10 doubles and three home runs in conference games. Airich had 27 multiple hit games and 16 multiple RBI games.

Brad Hall hit .305 during the 2009 season with 13 home runs, 11 doubles, and 55 runs batted in. Hall was fifth in the PBC in home runs, and had a slugging percentage of .592. The sophomore hit .277 in conference games with five home runs and 24 runs batted in. Hall played in 51 games, and committed just three errors for a .988 fielding percentage at first base and behind the plate. He has eight games with at least three runs batted in, and 14 multiple hit games.

The PBC All-Conference team was announced on the eve of the of the 2009 PBC Tournament, an event the Saints enter as the #4 seed for the second consecutive year as they try to repeat as tournament champions and make their second straight appearance in the NCAA Tournament.

The 2009 baseball All-Conference team is listed below. The team was selected by the league’s 10 head coaches, who were not permitted to vote for their own players.


2009 Baseball All-Conference Team

First Team

1b - Ken Raborn, USC Aiken
2b - Jason Coker, UNC Pembroke
3b - Andre Airich, North Georgia
SS - Barret Kleinknecht, Francis Marion
C - Jared Barkdoll, Francis Marion
OF - Kevin Dietrich, UNC Pembroke
OF - Cody McMorris, USC Aiken
OF - Shannon Wilkerson, Augusta State
OF - Alex Wyche, Armstrong Atlantic State
DH - Travis Howard, USC Aiken
UT - Seth Kivett, UNC Pembroke
SP - Jarrett Coker, Columbus State
SP - Matt McGovern, UNC Pembroke
SP - Cody Walden, Armstrong Atlantic State
SP - David Walters, Francis Marion
RP - Martin Dewald, GCSU

Second Team

1b - Kenny Cail, Armstrong Atlantic State
2b - Brooks Robinson, GCSU
3b - Keon Graves, Francis Marion
SS - Chandler Snell, GCSU
C - Brian Gordon, Columbus State
OF - Sean Harrell, GCSU
OF - Bud Lanier, Lander
OF - Alex Montes, Columbus State
OF - Tim Rawlings, Augusta State
DH - Jacob Wallace, Francis Marion
UT - Brad Hall, North Georgia
SP - Thomas Gray, Armstrong Atlantic State
SP - Phillip Robinson, Columbus State
SP - Steven Spire, USC Aiken
SP - Zack Whitman, Georgia Southwestern
RP - Brandon Forshee, Francis Marion

Player of the Year
Shannon Wilkerson, Augusta State

Pitcher of the Year
Matt McGovern, UNC Pembroke

Freshman of the Year
Stephen Carmon, USC Aiken

Coach of the Year
Kenny Thomas, USC Aiken