May 9, 2012

Saints Shutout 4-0 By Armstrong in PBC Tournament Opening Round

Contact: Steve Cunha,

COLUMBUS, GA – The North Georgia baseball team lost 4-0 to Armstrong in the opening round of the 2012 Peach Belt Conference Tournament on Wednesday afternoon at the historic Golden Park.

The Saints (24-27) have now lost four straight games to Armstrong (37-13) after defeating the Pirates in the opening round of last year's tournament.

After cruising through the first two frames, a series of rain showers ran through Columbus forcing a two hour and 26 minute rain delay. The delay forced Saints starter Jacob Beauchamp out of the game and Phillip Taylor (0-3) did not last long in relief, tossing just two-thirds of an inning walking four and allowing three runs.

After getting spotted the early lead, Pirates starter Chandler Hall (9-2) went into cruise control holding the Saints scoreless over the next five frames tossing his second shutout game of the season.

Reese Patten and Cody Clickner pitched well in relief for the Saints allowing just one unearned run over the final 5.1 innings.

Offensively, the Saints threatened in each of the first two innings, as they placed runners on first and second with no outs. In the first, Hall recorded back-to-back strikeouts after a Kenny Bellavance bunt and in the second a failed sac bunt attempt took the wind out of North Georgia's sails.

The Saints threatened again in the fourth when Dustin Carpenter was hit by a pitch to load the bases, but Hall was resilient once again forcing leadoff hitter Jordan Erisman to pop out.

The final North Georgia threat came in the top of the fifth when Derek Hooper and Bellavance started the frame with back-to-back hits. A Matthew Black groundout to short moved the runners to second and third, but the threat was squashed when Terrell Jones lined into a double play.

The Saints return to the diamond tomorrow, May 10, when they face-off against USC-Aiken in an elimination game. First pitch is scheduled for 9:00 a.m.

For updated PBC Tournament Bracket - click here

To visit the 2012 Tournament Site - click here