March 5, 2010

Michael Moynihan Named Second-Team All-PBC

AIKEN, SC – The Peach Belt Conference has released the 2009-10 men’s basketball All-Conference team at a banquet in Aiken, S.C., on the eve of the PBC Tournament semifinals, and North Georgia’s Michael Moynihan was named to the second team.

In an injury shortened season that saw the point guard play in 17 games, Michael Moynihan averaged 14.4 points per game to rank 10th in the Peach Belt Conference.

He had a season-high 23 points at Clayton State on January 23, and scored in double digits in all but three games this season. He was an 82.8 percent free throw shooter, and was 39.7 percent from long range, while dishing out over five assists per game.

Augusta State’s Ben Madgen was named the PBC Player of the Year with teammate Daniel Dixon the first Defensive Player of the Year. UNC Pembroke’s Shahmel Brackett was the PBC Freshman of the Year and ASU coach Dip Metress the PBC Coach of the Year. The 15-member team was selected by the league’s head coaches.

The 2009-10 All-Conference team is listed below. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.


2010 Peach Belt Conference
Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team

First Team
Fred Brathwaite, Augusta State
Ben Madgen, Augusta State
Freddy Little, Montevallo
Graham Martin, GCSU
Alex Smith, Augusta State

Second Team
Simel Boyd, Francis Marion
Byron Faison, USC Aiken
Michael Moynihan, North Georgia
Robert Murry, Clayton State
Chris Rawls, Georgia Southwestern

Third Team
Daniel Dixon, Augusta State
D.J. Ferguson, Flagler
Ty Rowland, GCSU
Patrick Shokpeka, Armstrong Atlantic State
Chris Telesford, Columbus State

Player of the Year: Ben Madgen, Augusta State
Defensive Player of the Year: Daniel Dixon, Augusta State
Freshman of the Year: Shahmel Brackett, UNC Pembroke
Coach of the Year: Dip Metress, Augusta State