March 3, 2009

Marble and Randolph Named PBC All-Conference

AUGUSTA, GA – The Peach Belt Conference announced the 2009 women’s basketball All-Conference team on the eve of the PBC Tournament, and Syretha Marble received first-team honors, while Whitney Randolph was selected third-team All-Conference.

This marks the fourth consecutive year Syretha Marble has garnered All-Conference honors as the senior continued to climb up the Peach Belt Conference all-time scoring and rebounding list. She currently sits 5th in the history of the PBC with 1,851 points, and 6th in rebounds with 917.

Marble, a 2008 All-American and All-Region selection, averaged 18.4 points per game and 8.7 rebounds per game to rank second and fourth respectively in the Peach Belt Conference. The senior scored in double digits in all but one game, and recorded a season-high 32 points against Mars Hill on November 24, and a season-high 20 rebounds at Georgia College & State University on February 4. She has recorded nine double-doubles this season, and leads the conference in minutes played at 37.52 minutes per game. Marble finished fourth in steals at 2.96 steals per game, and third in field goal percentage at 54.4 percent.

Whitney Randolph was 7th in the conference in scoring at 13.0 points per game, and 10th in rebounding with 7.3 rebounds per contest. She recorded six double-doubles and had a season-high 24 points at Clayton State on January 21, and a season-high 13 rebounds at Lander University on February 2. Randolph averaged 30.3 minutes per game and shot 45.5 percent from the field.

The Lady Saints will look to storm into the first round of the PBC Tournament with a pair of All-Conference performers as they take on UNC Pembroke Wednesday afternoon at 1:00 p.m. in the opening round.



2009 Peach Belt Conference
Women’s Basketball All-Conference Team

First Team
Morgan Johnson, USC Aiken
Syretha Marble, North Georgia
Kevina Ransom, Francis Marion
Shannon Singleton-Bates, Francis Marion
Phebe Smith, Columbus State
Lacey Willis, Armstrong Atlantic State

Second Team
Tiauna Brantley, GCSU
Meredith Legg, USC Aiken
Shannon McKever, Lander
Shandrea Moore, GCSU
Nikkisha Pritchett, Clayton State

Third Team
TaSheba Butler, Lander
Jasmine Godwin, Augusta State
JaToya Kemp, UNC Pembroke
Ciara Lyons, Lander
Whitney Randolph, North Georgia

Player of the Year
Phebe Smith, Columbus State

Freshman of the Year
Ciara Lyons, Lander

Coach of the Year
Heather Macy, Francis Marion