May 6, 2010

Five Saints Named to PBC All-Conference Squad

AUGUSTA, GA – The Peach Belt Conference has unveiled the 32-member baseball All-Conference team from the league office North Georgia had five representatives, including Chris Rearick who was tabbed as the PBC Pitcher of the Year.

Along with Rearick’s Pitcher of the Year and First-Team All-Conference honors, Jordan Erisman joined his teammate as a first-team member, while Andre Airich, Chad Sage, and Blake Hobby all earned second-team awards.

Rearick led the PBC in strikeouts in 2010 and was one of three starters in the league with an ERA under three.  A senior from Pooler, Ga., Rearick is 9-2 for the Saints heading into this weekend’s PBC Tournament with a 2.96 ERA.  He has a league-best 95 strikeouts on the year in a league-high 91.1 innings pitched.  Rearick is one of four PBC pitchers tied for the league lead with nine wins and is ranked in the league top five in opponent batting average and starts.  Rearick becomes the first North Georgia baseball player to be named the Pitcher of the Year.

Named to the PBC Preseason All-Conference team, Jordan Erisman lived up to the hype as the sophomore hit .347 with 13 doubles, a league-leading six triples, and 46 runs batted in. He is currently riding a 20-game hitting streak as the Lawrenceville, Ga., native has 23 multiple hit games, and 10 games of at least two runs batted in. Erisman has five home runs, including a season-high two home runs and seven runs batted in against Carson-Newman on March 16. He has a slugging percentage of .527, and an on-base percentage of .396.

Named to the PBC Preseason All-Conference team, Airich hit .333 with nine home runs, and a team-leading 55 runs batted in. He is fourth in the league in doubles with 17, and holds the Peach Belt Conference’s all-time mark for doubles in a career with 72. Airich has 20 multiple hit games, and leads the team with 14 multiple RBI games. The Roswell, Ga., native has a slugging percentage of .578, and an on-base percentage of .426.

Named the PBC Player of the Week during the season, Chad Sage hit .325 with 13 home runs, four doubles, and 53 runs batted in. He had back-to-back games of five runs batted in against UNC Pembroke, and belted three home runs in the series. Sage has 15 multiple hit games, including a five-hit performance, and 10 multiple RBI games.

Blake Hobby recorded a 6-4 record for the Saints with a 4.23 earned run average. The sophomore tossed 78.2 innings with 51 strikeouts, while opponents hit .285 against the right-hander. He had a season-high 10 strikeouts in a complete-game performance against Lander, one of 13 appearances on the year.

Columbus State’s Jason Rogers was named the PBC Player of the Year while Francis Marion’s Don Sandifer was named the Freshman of the Year with GCSU coach Tom Carty winning Coach of the Year honors.

North Georgia will now turn their attention to the 2010 PBC baseball tournament hosted by USC Aiken at Roberto Hernandez Stadium in Aiken, South Carolina.

Flagler and North Georgia will play their opening-round game at Lake Olmstead Stadium in Augusta, Ga., at 11:00 am on Saturday, while simultaneously Francis Marion will battle Georgia Southwestern with the two winners facing off in one of two semi-final games prior to the championship on Sunday.

The 2010 All-Conference team is listed below, as selected by the league’s head coaches.  Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

2010 Peach Belt Conference
All-Conference Team

First Team

1b – Jason Rogers, Columbus State
2b - Jason Veyna, GCSU
3b – Jordan Erisman, North Georgia
SS – Barrett Kleinknecht, Francis Marion
C – Richard Pirkle, GCSU
OF – Kyle Allen, GCSU
OF – Sean Harrell, GCSU
OF – Bill Rice, USC Aiken
OF – Shawn Ward, GCSU
DH – Nick Aranas, USC Aiken
UT – Seth Kivett, UNC Pembroke
SP – Martin Dewald, GCSU
SP – Matt McGovern, UNC Pembroke
SP – Chris Rearick, North Georgia
SP – Don Sandifer, Francis Marion
RP – Brian Willis, UNC Pembroke

Second Team

1b – Chris Sosebee, Montevallo
2b – Andre Airich, North Georgia
3b – Robert Skinner, Lander
SS – Cale Owen, Flagler
C – John Roberts, Armstrong Atlantic State
OF – Kevin Garcia, Montevallo
OF – Bud Long, Georgia Southwestern
OF – Kenny Mickens, UNC Pembroke
OF – Chad Sage, North Georgia
DH – John Sgromolo, Flagler
UT – Tony Baker, Augusta State
SP – Jonathan Armold, Flagler
SP – Thomas Campbell, Columbus State
SP – Blake Hobby, North Georgia
SP – Eric Pettepher, GCSU
RP – Brandon Forshee, Francis Marion

Player of the Year
Jason Rogers, Columbus State

Pitcher of the Year
Chris Rearick, North Georgia

Freshman of the Year
Don Sandifer, Francis Marion

Coach of the Year
Tom Carty, GCSU