March 4, 2008

Pair of Saints named PBC All-Conference

North Georgia’s Andre Morgan and Nick Pope named to team

DAHLONEGA, GA – The Peach Belt Conference has released the 2007-08 men’s basketball All-Conference team on the eve of the PBC Tournament and for the first time in school history two Saints were named to the team as Andre Morgan and Nick Pope joined the squad.

For the first time in 17 years, the PBC had co-Players of the Year as USC Aiken’s Chris Commons and Augusta State’s Tyrekus ‘AJ’ Bowman share the award. Francis Marion’s Simel Boyd was named the Freshman of the Year while USCA’s Vince Alexander the Coach of the Year.

Bowman becomes the fourth player in PBC history to repeat as Player of the Year. The senior from Tignall, Ga., was third in the PBC in scoring with 18.9 points per game and second in rebounding with 7.5 per game. He was also fifth in the league in blocked shots. Currently, Bowman is fourth on the PBC’s all-time scoring list with more than 1,600 points.

Andre Morgan finished the season ranked 8th in the conference in scoring at 15.6 points per game and 13th in rebounding at 5.5 per game. He was 77.5 percent from the free throw line, which was good for 9th in the conference and was fourth in minutes played at 33.33 per game. He was also 7th in the PBC in steals and 3-pointers made and was named PBC Player of the Week during the season.

Nick Pope finished the season 11th in the PBC in scoring at 14.1 points per game and averaged 5.8 rebounds which was also good for 11th in the conference. Pope was 46.9 percent from the field and 39 percent from three-point range.

North Georgia will enter the tournament as the #4 seed and face Armstrong Atlantic in their opening game at 5:00 p.m. Friday evening.

2008 Peach Belt Conference
Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team
Tyrekus ‘AJ’ Bowman, Augusta State
Aaron Clark, GCSU
Chris Commons, USC Aiken
Jeremy Fears, USC Aiken
William Kane, Armstrong Atlantic State
Shaun Keaton, GCSU
Ben Madgen, Augusta State
Andre Morgan, North Georgia
Nick Pope, North Georgia
Anthony Sargent, Georgia Southwestern State
Garret Siler, Augsuta State
Michael Sloan, Clayton State

Co-Players of theYear: Tyrekus ‘AJ’ Bowman, Augusta State
Chris Commons, USC Aiken
Freshman of the Year: Simel Boyd, Francis Marion
Coach of the Year: Vince Alexander, USC Aiken