November 3, 2009

Flagler "Golden" in rematch of Saints in Tourney

Box Score

ST. AUGUSTINE, FL – In a much-anticipated rematch between the battle of the Saints, Flagler College used a golden goal in the first minute of overtime to burry North Georgia 1-0 Tuesday evening in the first round of the 2009 PBC Tournament.

North Georgia ends the season at 5-11-1, ending the year on a seven-game winless streak after a pair of victories prior to the streak. The Saints fail to advance to the PBC Tournament “Final Four” for the first time in last three years, and just their second time since entering the league five years ago.

Mack Hough scored the game's only goal in the first overtime Tuesday night to lift Flagler past the Saints. Hough took a pass from Will Frandsen in the 91st minute and his shot beat North Georgia keeper Rade Tanaskovic in the back-right corner from 13 yards out.

In the first half, the game appeared to be heading towards a high-scoring affair. NGCSU fired 11 shots while Flagler shot 10.

Justin Gonzalez gave North Georgia its best opportunity to take an early lead, but his shot in the box missed left.

Flagler's Eammon Murphy nearly scored a goal but his header bounced off the goal post and was cleared.

In the second half, Flagler had seven corner kicks but were unable to break the scoreless tie.

Tanaskovic saved four shots for NGCSU, while Flagler goalkeeper Matt Gilman saved three.

All-Tournament Team

Alex Lewis – USC Aiken
Alden Brooks – Francis Marion
Ben Tayi – North Georgia
Juan Diego Castillo – UNC Pembroke
Daniel Pelletier – Montevallo
Arran McCarthy – Montevallo
Kyle Timm - Clayton State
Igor Lukic - Clayton State
Johan Bergfeld – Flagler
Ryan Endrizzi – Flagler
Steven Carothers – Flagler
Craig Hughes – Lander
Samy Beydoun – Lander
Matthew Atkinson – Lander

Tournament MVP
Jamie Ramm - Lander