November 7, 2013

Penston Highlights Three Nighthawks On PBC Women's Soccer First Team All-Conference List

EVANS, Georgia – ( – Three University of North Georgia women's soccer players have been honored as All-Conference selections by the Peach Belt Conference as announced on Wednesday evening at a banquet in conjunction with the league's championship tournament beginning tomorrow.  Kelly Penston, Cicely Taliaferro and Megan Morrow each landed on the first team All-Conference ballot.

In addition to garnering All-Conference honors, Penston was awarded with the conference's Brine Golden Ball honoring the conference's top goal scorer as the senior's 18 goals set a new UNG single season record.

From her forward position, Penston wrapped up the 2013 season with a hat trick of three goals in the Nighthawks' 5-3 PBC quarterfinal loss at Lander which was her fourth multi-goal performance of the year.  She is currently tied for 8th nationally in goals scored after collecting a stretch of ten consecutive games midseason with a goal scored.  She garnered PBC/AstroTurf Player of the Week honors on September 16.

Taliaferro recorded three goals and six assists from her midfielder position.  She tallied a pair of scores in the team's 13-0 victory over Georgia Southwestern and had a pair of assists in the Nighthawks' 3-0 win at Montevallo.  She was named the PBC/AstroTurf Player of the Week on October 14.

Morrow scored a pair of goals to go along with five assists while anchoring a Nighthawk defense that recorded eight shutouts on the season. Her tally in UNG's 2-0 victory over Flagler on Oct. 26 was the game-winner and helped the junior garner the league's Defender of the Week honor two days later.

2013 Peach Belt Conference Women's Soccer Year End Honors

Elite 15 Award:  Kelsey Pelletier, Columbus State
Brine Golden Ball Winner: Kelly Penston, North Georgia
Player of the Year: Alicia Robinson, Clayton State
Freshman of the Year:  Nicole Corcione, Columbus State
Coach of the Year: Gareth O'Sullivan, Clayton State

First Team All-Conference

Candace Edwards, Young Harris
Denisha Paskell, Clayton State
Kelly Penston, North Georgia
Ashley Veilleux, Georgia College

Casey Black, Lander
Melissa Hetherington, Clayton State
Alicia Robinson, Clayton State
Cicely Taliaferro, North Georgia

Megan Morrow, North Georgia
Shelby Rolling, Columbus State
Taylor Russell, Armstrong
Danielle Shaw, Lander

Morgan Luckie, Armstrong

Second Team All-Conference

Nicole Corcione, Columbus State
Abby Dalton, Georgia College
Kimberly Kesler, Lander
Taylor Valley, Armstrong

Hannah Allison, USC Aiken
Noel McDaniel, Lander
Taylor Marks, Columbus State
Brianne Matarazzo, Armstrong

Nina Boganes, Clayton State
Hilary Ferguson, Lander
Tamaki Onuma, Clayton State
Emily Walling, Clayton State

Charlotte McCormack, Clayton State