October 24, 2009

Men's Cross Country Shines at PBC Championships

Full Results

LUMBERTION, NC – The North Georgia College & State University men’s cross country had their best showing of the season Saturday morning at the 19th annual Peach Belt Conference Championships presented by GEICO, taking fourth place on a rainy morning at Luther Britt Park.

Columbus State University captured Peach Belt Championship, their fifth straight title, as they placed three runners in the top five to post 24 total points, beating out Clayton State in second place with 49 points and UNC Pembroke in third place with 72 points. North Georgia was fourth in the eight-team field, putting up 137 points in the event.

Sophomore Tyler Mattix ran his best race of the year, posting his highest finish of the season in 8th place, finishing the 8000-meter course in 27:10.74 to earn Peach Belt Second-Team All-Conference honors, the programs first all-conference performer since 2006.

Mattix was followed by Teale Marchette who placed 22nd overall, running the course in 28:23.87, while Charlie McKinney was third on the team and 30th overall in 29:09.43.

Nicholas Bava crossed the line in 37th place overall with a time totaling 29:47.36, while Charles Beusse finished three places later in 40th place overall with a time of 30:02.98.

Zachary Loggins and Cody Carlson rounded out the field for the Saints in the event, finishing in 42nd and 44th positions respectively.

Four runners broke away from the pack of the men’s race and were together for the first two miles, but in the end Columbus State’s Meshack Koyiaki maintained the pace the best and won the Individual Championship in a time of 24:38, the second-fastest 8k ever run at a PBC Championship.

North Georgia returns to action in two weeks at the NCAA Division II Southeast Regional Championship on Saturday, November 7. The event will be hosted by Wingate University for the second straight year.


Peach Belt Conference Championship
North Georgia Individual Results

 Place   Finisher  Total Time
 8  Tyler Mattix
 22  Teale Marchette 28:23.87
 30  Charlie McKinney
 37  Nicholas Bava 29:47.36
 40  Charles Beusse 30:02.98
 42  Zachary Loggins
 44  Cody Carlson